Library Home Library

 

Subscriptions & Databases

Databases * Encyclopedias * Periodicals

SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

Ancient & Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
To use Ancient & Medieval History Online at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
To use American History Online at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Biography Resource Center
Need information about a person? This is the best source for award-winning biographies from respected reference books plus full-text periodical articles from Gale Databases (InfoTrac). (Funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners)
To use Biography Resource Center at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

Gale Databases (InfoTrac)
A collection of 14 databases with articles and citations from magazines, journals, newspapers and reference books. Use Gale Databases (InfoTrac) for current events, biographies, health, and business information. (Funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners)
To use Gale's InfoTrac at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

Issues & Controversies
Use Issues & Controversies from Facts on File to find up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. This is a great place to find clear explanations of opposing points of view! (Funded by the Central Massachusetts Regional Library System)
To use Issues & Controversies at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

Kids InfoBits
This new Gale InfoTrac database is great for Lower School research and current events.
To use Kids InfoBits at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present.
To use Modern World History Online at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Massachusetts Newsstand
Full text articles from twelve Massachusetts newspapers, including the Boston Globe, the Boston Herald, and the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
(Funded by the Central Massachusetts Regional Library System)

To use Massachusetts Newsstand at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

Visual Thesaurus
Try this amazing interactive dictionary and thesaurus that creates word maps exploring the meaning and relationship of words.
To use Visual Thesaurus at home, CLICK HERE, but first see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language. It is a historical dictionary, which traces the evolution of over 600,000 words, both past and present. The OED uses quotations to illustrate how words have been used over the last millennium.
To use the OED at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Science Online
Science Online is a complete reference database containing thousands of entries covering almost every field of science. Categories include: Diagrams, Definitions, Biographies, Essays, and Experiments and are cross-referenced through hyperlinks and are searchable by keyword, topic, and year. In addition, the site includes a Timeline dating from the big bang to the present.
To use Science Online at home, enter a library card number from Fay School (see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder) or any public library in Massachusetts in the box below. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Enter Library Card Number FOR HOME ACCESS:

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Britannica Online
The complete Encyclopædia Britannica (high school), Compton's by Britannica (middle school) and Britannica Elementary (elementary school) and the Britannica Internet Guide.
To use Britannica Online at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Grolier Online
A complete reference library: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, America the Beautiful and Amazing Animals of the World.
To use Grolier Online at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

ONLINE MAGAZINES

CQ Researcher
The Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher offers complete reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
To use CQ Researcher at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Scientific American
Scientific American offers understandable, authoritative reporting on developments in every field of science.
To use Scientific American at home, see the Library PASSWORDS email on the FirstClass INFO FOR STUDENTS & PARENTS folder for user name and password. If you need help accessing this resource at home, watch this online tutorial.

Back to Upper School Links

updated 03/06/2008

 

 


 

 


Fay School is not responsible for the content of external web sites.
Library Home


© 2008
Fay School Library
48 Main Street
Southborough, MA 01772
Send comments & questions about the Library pages to: Library Director